Unofficial Bzz
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Anyone live in a manufactured or modular home?

+5
trax
Lori
Rebecca1340
BeachyBum
edbson
9 posters

Go down

Anyone live in a manufactured or modular home? Empty Anyone live in a manufactured or modular home?

Post by edbson Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:26 am

Dh and I have been arguing about building a new house for several months. We have argued about floor plans, size, construction, you name it, even the type of windows. Anyway, after doing some research, and actually finding one we BOTH liked, we have decided on either a manufactered home, or a modular home.
So far we only have pros...and possibly one con, here they are

Con: could possibly be "deed or zoning restricted", which could cause us to not buy either, although we have done our research and Houston is the only city in the state that can enforce deed restrictions.

Pros: Manufactured is already built, a done deal, no waiting
Modular is built, nd delivered, and put togehter like Lego's in a matter of 8-12 weeks. almost a done deal
They both cost less than a traditional stick built home, Manufactured is $35-55 sq ft, modular is $55-75...stick built is $100+ sq foot.

So give me some cons, costs, or even "why I hate this place"???
edbson
edbson

Number of posts : 5916
Honeycomb : Level 6~ the abyss,
Registration date : 2008-04-01

Back to top Go down

Anyone live in a manufactured or modular home? Empty Re: Anyone live in a manufactured or modular home?

Post by BeachyBum Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:29 am

Con: they attract tornadoes and have to be evacuated for bad weather ...

My mom lives in one, this seems to be the only drawback ....
BeachyBum
BeachyBum
In Need of a 12 Step Program

Number of posts : 791
Honeycomb : Sweet Bee ~ Level 6 ~ 2 Golden Keys ~ Bzzing since 2003
Registration date : 2008-06-07

Back to top Go down